New York, New York!

New York, New York!  This song was constantly playing on my mind prior to my trip to the Big Apple.

New York, New York

Statue of Liberty Yellow Taxis

 

 

 

 

This is after all 7 years after the trip now so do forgive me if my memory is a little fuzzy. *LOL* It was also a trip with some personal agenda so I did not go around as much as I wanted to and I pretty much finished the entire 2 seasons of Invader Zim that my friend had in possession.

Let’s just start with a few places for now and will talk more in the following post.

Chinatown and Little Italy

I just have to make a visit to Chinatown being Chinese, not for the food but to check out how it is like. What you can never wander far from is food when you are in a Chinese neighbourhood.

Then you will also spot the palm-reader telling your fortune at some roadside, alongside vendors selling fruits and vegetables.

Palmist Street Vendor Street Vendor

 

 

 

 

Little Italy is very much close by though it is not an ethnic neighbourhood anymore as it is overruned by mediocre bakeries/resturants and gift shops trading in Sopranos quotes on cheap t-shirts.

I have found a little cheat sheet with places where you may nibble or eat. You may download the PDF here. (published Apr 18, 2013)

Fancy Table Lamps

Hello Titty Turban Spongebob

 

 

 

 

 

Staten Island Ferry Ride

Grabbing a hot chocolate and a cream cheese bagel, I waited for the gates to open and board the ferry.  ( you may check the schedule here )

Most of the people huddled inside instead of staying out in the open deck as it became much colder when the ferry was in motion. However, being a person in the tropics, I find it hard to resist any chance of being in the natural cold air. After all, I had my hot chocolate and cream cheese bagel to enjoy while enjoying the sight… mmmm, simple joys.

Staten Island Ferry Ride Staten Island Ferry Ride Staten Island Ferry Ride

Leave a Reply

